AdPR's Hamilton chosen for Grady's Darwin Davis Award

AdPR professor
Dr. Jay Hamilton
Congratulations to Dr. Jay Hamilton of the AdPR Department, who is this year’s recipient of the Darwin Davis Award.

Made possible by an endowment from Dean Emeritus Cully Clark and his wife Mary, the honor was established to recognize a member of the Grady College faculty or staff whose performance reflects those qualities of dedication and friendship that best capture the “Grady Spirit.”

The award is named for Arthur B. Darwin and Harold E. Davis, who are notable alumni of Grady College. Hamilton will receive a $1,000 monetary gift and honorary plaque.

Previous recipients of the Darwin Davis Award include  Betty Jones (2013), Cindi Johnson (2012), Dr. Diane Miller (2011), Michael Castengera (2010), Brooke Rooks (2009), Dr. Kirsten Strausbaugh-Hutchinson (2008) and Dr. Carolina Acosta-Alzuru (2007).

Hamilton is appreciative of the honor.

"This is a novel award...not for accomplishments in the traditional sense. Rather, it recognizes what Cully called the 'Grady Spirit.' This spirit is not only one person's own attitude or temperament, but what everyone in this college does to help us hang together and to move forward together."

Earlier this year, Hamilton was also chosen to receive the University of Georgia’s highest teaching recognition, the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship.

No comments: